DoorDash is one of the most popular online food delivery services in the United States as it boasts a market share of 56% and also claims to also have been affiliated with over 200,000 restaurants while also making over 800,000 deliveries each day. You may already have several food delivery apps on your phone, or you want to stop ordering food and start cooking more in your home, however, some reason may have made you wonder if you can delete your DoorDash account permanently. Hence why we ask, “how can you delete your DoorDash account permanently?”
You can delete your DoorDash account permanently by heading to your account settings. So if you have a reason to want to delete your DoorDash account, you can do this easily. However, when you want to delete your DoorDash account, you can only do it via DoorDash’s web version and not the mobile app.
Although DoorDash allows you to delete your account permanently, it doesn’t allow you to temporarily deactivate your account like most platforms with accounts will do and you can only delete your account on the platform’s web version. In this piece, I’ll discuss if it’s possible to delete your door dash account and the steps on how you can permanently delete your door dash account successfully.
Can You Permanently Delete Your DoorDash Account?
Yes, you can permanently delete your DoorDash account whenever you want to. DoorDash is the most famous online food delivery service in the United States that allows users to order foods from their favorite restaurants and get them delivered to their doorstep easily. The company is awarded as the most famous online food delivery service because it has a market share of over 56% and it offers services across Australia and Canada, asides from the United States.
There are various reasons why you may want to permanently delete your DoorDash account, however, if these reasons are genuine enough, DoorDash allows its users to permanently delete their account whenever they want to as this process complies with the customer service regulation.
This regulation makes sure that customers can create, edit, view, and delete data whenever they want to and it also protects customer data too. Due to this, DoorDash has no choice but to allow customers to permanently delete their accounts whenever they want to since they are in charge of what happens to their data on DoorDash.
Since DoorDash is single-handedly responsible for 56% of the customers within the online food delivery sector, this puts the company in a very important spot to create monopolistic policies within the food delivery business.
This creates security issues with the information shared between their customers and delivery partners as a lot of both parties didn’t like the policies. For instance, in May 2019, DoorDash announced that the data regarding its customers, merchants, and delivery partners that was supposed to be private and secured by DoorDash was compromised due to technical error and this caused a lot of users to want to leave DoorDash.
Another reason why customers may want to delete their DoorDash account is due to the poor treatment of delivery workers as the company has a history with this issue. In July 2019, DoorDash was accused of withholding its delivery partner’s tips paid by the customers. DoorDash deliberately withheld the tips paid by customers to delivery workers by routing the money first to the company accounts and making sure it covered the guaranteed minimum amount required to pay the driver.
After the requirement was fulfilled, the company will then pay the remaining amount to the delivery driver which was unfair. This unfair policy led DoorDash to be sued with a class-action lawsuit for a “materially false and misleading” tipping policy and had to be forced to revise the policy after a settlement payment of 2.5 million dollars.
Amongst all of these reasons is another which involved poor treatment of restaurant partners. In April 2020, DoorDash influenced restaurants to sign contracts that contained clauses that would not allow them to increase food prices on their menu by using its monopolistic power. This policy was the same for both done-in restaurants and delivery restaurants that partnered with DoorDash.
In simpler terms, this policy meant that the restaurant partners had to subsidize the cost of delivery themselves after paying 13 to 40% of the bill which amounts to DoorDash fees. This was a lot of burden for the restaurants as their margins are almost always lower than 10%.
Hence, a lot of customers decided not to be associated with a company that doesn’t treat its partners and customers right even though DoorDash relies on them for its business. However, the reason why you want to permanently delete your DoorDash account may be different from the above-listed reasons, however, it doesn’t negate the fact that you can permanently delete your DoorDash account whenever you want to, for whatever reason you want to.
How To Permanently Delete Your DoorDash Account
There are two different ways that you can delete your DoorDash account. You can do this via the platform’s web version only but if you want to deactivate your DoorDash pass, you can do this by contacting its customer care representatives. It’s important that you know that you cannot delete your DoorDash account from DoorDash’s mobile application as you can only do this on the web version.
How To Permanently Delete Your DoorDash Account On DoorDash’s Website
Step 1: Visit DoorDash Website
Go to DoorDash.com and enter your login credentials to log into your DoorDash account on the web version.
Step 2: Click On The Menu Icon
Once you’ve logged in, you’ll be taken to the homepage. On the homepage, you’ll see a hamburger icon on the top left side of the webpage which is the menu icon. Once you click on it, you’ll be taken to the menu page where you can access other items related to your account.
Step 3: Click On Accounts
Once the menu opens, navigate to the “Accounts” option and click on it. Once you click on this, you’ll be directed to your account settings.
Step 4: Click On Manage Account
After you can access the account settings page, navigate to the top right corner of the page to find the “Manage Account” button. Once you find the button, click on it.
Step 5: Click On Request Archive
Before you go on to permanently delete your DoorDash account, DoorDash allows you to download all of your data and archive it by selecting the “Request archive” option. The data that will be downloaded includes your billing information and receipts for all your orders.
Step 6: Click On Delete Account
After you’ve downloaded your data by clicking on the “request archive” button, right below this button, you’ll find the “delete account” button. Once you’ve clicked on this, you’ll be redirected to a new page where you’re required to enter a verification code sent to your email or phone number to proceed with the process. After you get the verification code, input the code and permanently delete your account.
After you’ve deleted your account, you won’t be able to log into that DoorDash account again. However, if you downloaded your DoorDash data, you’ll be able to access all of the data you have with your DoorDash account on the downloaded file.